sport news Newcastle boss Eddie Howe slams 'POOR decision' to award PSG the late penalty ... trends now

sport news Newcastle boss Eddie Howe slams 'POOR decision' to award PSG the late penalty ... trends now
sport news Newcastle boss Eddie Howe slams 'POOR decision' to award PSG the late penalty ... trends now

sport news Newcastle boss Eddie Howe slams 'POOR decision' to award PSG the late penalty ... trends now

PSG were awarded a controversial late penalty against Newcastle on Tuesday Eddie Howe was furious with the decision as his side failed to hold for the win  If Steve Cooper goes, he'll be sacked with honour and walk into another top job - Listen to why on It's All Kicking Off

View
comments

Eddie Howe said he felt a sense of injustice and could not understand the award of an injury-time penalty that denied Newcastle a famous Champions League victory here in Paris.

Tino Livramento was penalised for a handball in the 98th minute when Polish referee Szymon Marciniak pointed to the spot after a VAR review, and Kylian Mbappe scored to cancel out Alexander Isak’s first-half opener.

However, the ball had deflected off the defender’s chest before hitting his elbow, and UEFA guidance to officials states that should not result in a penalty.

Isak called it ‘cheap’ and, when Howe was asked if he felt an injustice had been served by the referee, the Newcastle boss said: ‘Yes, I do. In my opinion, it wasn’t the right decision.

‘What you don't take into account with those replays is how quick the ball goes. It hits his chest first and comes up and hits his hand. If it hits his hand first, it's still not a penalty, because he's so close. But you can make more of a case.

Eddie Howe was at a loss to explain how a late penalty was given against his side on Tuesday

Eddie Howe was at a loss to explain how a late penalty was given against his side on Tuesday

Tino Livramento was penalised for handball, despite the ball hitting his chest first

Tino Livramento was penalised for handball, despite the ball hitting his chest first

‘It's not a penalty when it hits his chest first and then hits his hand, which is low. His hand is not in an unnatural position. He is running and they are in a running motion. I think it’s a poor decision and it’s hugely frustrating for us, because you know how little time is left.

‘I thought the referee was having a good game up until this moment. He had been

read more from dailymail.....

PREV sport news Courtney Lawes is still laying down the law, and a young wing wizard casts a ... trends now
NEXT sport news Paige Spiranac and Olivia Dunne reunite at another Sports Illustrated Swimsuit ... trends now