Nick Kyrgios blushes as he recognises a female journalist from the pub

In his press conference after losing to Rafael Nadal, Nick Kyrgios recognised a female journalist he had been partying with at the pub the night before.

Three minutes into the conference, the journalist said: 'Nick you played a great match'.

Kyrgios turned to face her and his eyes lit up. 'You, you were at the pub last night,' he said, smiling and pointing at her.

'Oh yes I know,' the woman replied, drawing a big laugh from the other reporters in the room.

Kyrgios on court today

The 'bad boy of tennis' in the pub last night

The 24-year-old (seen left today against Nadal) was spotted at the Dog & Fox Pub in Wimbledon on Wednesday night (right) until around 11pm just hours ahead of today's game

'You are ruining my reputation,' she joked.

Kyrgios then sat up in his chair and said: 'Ah OK, that's hilarious.'

He then said 'yeah sorry' and tried to keep a straight face to answer the question.

But the 24-year-old Australian cracked another smile, shook his head in disbelief and said 'this is awkward'.

Eventually the reporter was able to ask her question about his serve and volley tactics.

Later on Twitter, the publisher of Inside Tennis magazine, Bill Simmons, said the journalist was one of his freelance writers, Lucia Hoffman.

Hoffman was pictured being kissed on the cheek by Kyrgios at Wimbledon's Dog and Fox pub on Wednesday night.  

Simmons wrote: 'Kyrgios jokes with our writer Lucia Hoffman and says you were at the pub late last night.' 

Kyrgios received a warning for his conduct after raging at the umpire about how long Nadal was taking between points

Kyrgios received a warning for his conduct after raging at the umpire about how long Nadal was taking between points

Nadal returns serve against Kyrgios during today's match, which is being played on Centre Court

Nadal returns serve against Kyrgios during today's match, which is being played on Centre Court 

It was a rare light moment in the otherwise frosty conference in which Kyrgios admitted he deliberately smashed the ball at Nadal's chest and refused to apologise. 

In the third set, he aimed the ball at the Spaniard's midsection - and Nadal blocked it with his racket at the last second. 

Perhaps startled, Nadal double-faulted on the next point but he held serve and celebrated wildly.

Asked by a reporter why he didn't say sorry at the time, Kyrgios replied: 'I didn't hit him. Hit his racket, no? Why would I apologise? I won the point... I mean, the dude has got how many Slams, how much money in the bank account? I think he can take a ball to the chest, bro. I was going for him'. 

Nadal in his press conference slammed Kyrgios for dangerous play.  

'I don't say Nick does this stuff to bother the opponent, but it is

read more from dailymail.....

Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

NEXT Jernigan Capital: 2Q Earnings Snapshot