Captivating photographs explore the inside of an abandoned Baltimore radio station.
WFBR 1300 AM was one of Baltimore's leading radio stations during the golden age of broadcast.
Down the back stairs of the former Centre Theater on 10 East North Avenue in Baltimore the recording space has been abandoned and left to rot.
A switchboard covered with analog meters, lights and large black dials looks like 'a steam punk version of spaceship bridge' according to Baltimore Heritage.
The decayed center of what was once one of Baltimore's most prominent media outlets is now completely silent.
Photographer Brennen Jensen wears a mask inside the former Centre Theater because there is so much mold
A switchboard with analog meters, lights and black dials looks like 'a steam punk version of spaceship bridge'
WFBR 1300 AM radio station was on the air during the golden age of broadcasting
The Centre Theater has been neglected for several years so it is now falling apart
A hole in the theater's roof allows rain and other elements to enter into the old building
Without a flashlight the windowless rooms are completely dark because light fixtures were stripped out
A glass block window lighting up a corner stairwell provides the only hint of 1930s aesthetic
Nonprofit developer Jubilee Baltimore is planning to adapt the structure into a creative space again
The former Centre Theater is located in Station North Arts District of Baltimore
The radio rooms date back to the age of live orchestras and shows such as 'Every Woman's Hour' and 'Moonlight in Maryland.'
The station was successful though the 1980s. Morning DJ Johnny Walker who worked for WFBR from 1974 to 1987 has been compared to Howard Stern.
Stern's sidekick Robin Quivers worked at WFBR briefly, too.
The station broadcast Orioles baseball games between 1979 and 1986, even covering one World Series.
In 1987 FM stations took over static-prone AM ones. Walker left and the station was sold.
Most of the old equipment in the space is tagged for removal and salvage.
There is an empty record library with shelves labeled 'Greatest Hits' and 'Oldies Collection.'
The dry wall interior deteriorated rapidly once the building was abandoned
The old WFBR radio studio was located down the back stairs of the building
The center of what was once one of Baltimore's most prominent media outlets is now silent
An old record library has been emptied but shelves are still labeled 'Greatest Hits' and 'Oldies Collection'
In 1987 FM stations took over static-prone AM ones and the station was sold
A piece of carbon paper (pictured) was sent after the Mohawk airline crashed a plane into an Upstate New York mountaintop killing all 14 people on board
The rest of the theater has suffered similar decay to the WFBR studio
The soundproofed walls and carpeted floors in Studio E are now thick with mold
A room marked Studio E has soundproofed walls and carpeted floors that are thick with mold.
In a cluttered closet there is a carbon paper memo dated November 20, 1969 stating: 'Due to Mohawk air crash we deleted one AM and one PM spot.' The airline had crashed a plane into an Upstate New York mountaintop the day before, killing all 14 people on board.
The rest of the theater has