Primates have evolved larger voice boxes than other mammals to help with social ...

Rodentia (gnawing mammals)

Includes mountain beavers, chipmunks, squirrels, marmots, field mice, lemmings, muskrats, hamsters, gerbils, Old World mice, rats, geomyidae (gophers), and Dipodidae (jerboas). 

1,700 species, the largest mammalian order. 

Chiroptera (bats)

There are two suborders of bats, the only mammals that can fly. 

Suborder Megachiroptera contains one family, the Pteropodidae (flying foxes, Old Worm fruit bats). 

Suborder Microchiroptera contains 17 families, including mouse-tailed bats, sheath tailed bats, hog-nosed or butterfly bats, bulldog or fisherman bats, slit-faced bats, false vampire bats, and horseshoe bats. 

19 families, 178 genera, 926 species (the second largest mammalian order).  


The order to which people belong is divided into two suborders - The Prosimii, who have longer snouts than their relatives, and the Anthropoidae.

The first group includes the tree shrew, lemurs, aye-ayes, lorises, pottos, and tarsiers. 

The anthropoids include marmosets, New World monkeys, baboons, Old World monkeys, gibbons, gorillas, chimpanzees, orangutans and Hominidae (human beings). 

Carnivora (meat eaters)

There are two suborders of these toe-footed creatures. They include wolves, dogs, jackals, foxes, bears, giant pandas, coatis, raccoons, lesser pandas, and Mustelidae (martens, weasels, skunks, otters).

They are all part of one superfamily that is characterised by long snouts and unretractable claws.

Felidae (cats, lions, cheetahs, leopards) Hyaenidae (hyenas), and Viverridae (mongooses, civets), all have retractable claws. 

There are

read more from dailymail.....

NEXT Amazon gets FAA approval to test US Prime Air delivery drones