Major passport warning issued by FCDO for Britons visiting Spain, Portugal, ...

HOLIDAYMAKERS hoping to jet off on European holidays from January are set to face new entry requirements in a number of destinations. The Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office has issued new updates, including some major passport changes, for nations including Spain, Portugal and .

PUBLISHED: 09:13, Tue, Sep 8, 2020 | UPDATED: 09:14, Tue, Sep 8, 2020

With Brexit set for completion on December 31, one of the biggest changes Britons will feel is the impact on travel to Europe. As the country prepares for its departure, with the transition period coming to a close on October 31, the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) has outlined some new changes travellers should be prepared for.

Jet2, easyJet, BA, TUI & Ryanair flights latest update

The government body has updated its entry requirement regulations for a number of hotspots including Germany, Iceland, , Hungary, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia and Spain.

For those with holiday plans to any Schengen area countries, visas will not be required so long as the trip is for a maximum of 90 days or less within a 180-day period.

The FCDO explains: “You will be able to travel to countries in the Schengen area for up to 90 days in any 180-day period without a visa for purposes such as tourism.

“This is a rolling 180-day period.”

READ MORE: Holidays: Grant Shapps reveals seven Greek islands on quarantine list

Passport changes to Europe holidaysPassports: Britain's face some new changes after January 1 2021 (Image: Getty Images)

Brexit: Border control in EuropeBrexit: There will be new border control measures in place across Europe (Image: Getty Images)

The Schengen Area is a group of countries within Europe which have abolished internal border controls.

Currently, the Schengen area consists of 26 European countries: Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, , Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden, along with Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Both EU and non-EU citizens may freely travel within the Schengen area and are only checked on entry to the area and when crossing an external border.


read more.....

PREV Prime Minister urges Christmas deadline for COVID-19 restrictions to be lifted
NEXT Adele weight loss: How singer slimmed down by 7st following simple diet plan