Russia denounced the EU's actions as 'illegitimate restrictive measures'.

Russia details 'killer sanctions' they may impose on the West

On Friday, Russia announced that eight European Union officials will be denied access to the country in response to sanctions imposed by the bloc. Last month, the EU imposed a series of sanctions on four of Russia’s top officials over the imprisonment of Alexei Navalny, a renowned critic of Russian President Vladimir Putin, and the subsequent police action that was taken during a protest in support of Mr Navalny.

Related articles

In a statement, Russia’s foreign ministry said: “The European Union continues its policy of unilateral illegitimate restrictive measures targeting Russian citizens and organisations.

“Such actions by the European Union leave no doubt that their true goal is to restrain the development of our country at any cost.”

Barred officials include David Sassoli, European Parliament President, and Vera Jourova, Vice President of the European Commission for Values and Transparency.

Russia has been on the receiving end of multiple sanctions in recent weeks after the US imposed restrictions on dozens of Russian entities and officials in response to cyber-attacks.

Insurance Loans Mortgage Attorney Credit Lawyer

Vladimir Putin meets Deputy PMRussia bans EU officials entering the country (Image: Getty Images)

Alexei Navalny, critic of PutinThe EU imposed sanctions over the imprisonment of Alexei Navalny (Image: Getty Images )

On April 15, the US expelled 10 Russian diplomats as part of an executive order signed by President Joe Biden.

Russia’s reaction to

read more.....

PREV Trevor McDonald on why he turned down job at BBC #georgefloyd
NEXT Ian Buckells exposed as H as link with #LineofDuty's Patricia Carmichael ...